Jump to content


- - - - -

Setting up FSX multiplayer server?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 lambo8

lambo8

    Airline Transport Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,279 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 04 April 2008 - 12:05 PM

How exactly can I set up my server so it can be used for FSX multiplayer?

#2 winxpro

winxpro

    Private Pilot - VFR

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Location:Stourbridge

Posted 04 April 2008 - 12:18 PM

you make a gamespy account then you log in then click Host Session add a name and then select aircraft and then the airport and continue thin the settings and then host the session

#3 kamakazi

kamakazi

    Passenger

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 12:54 PM

Use Fshost to host your server. It runs on your computer so if GameSpy's server goes down, your server won't. :lol:

#4 lambo8

lambo8

    Airline Transport Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,279 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 04 April 2008 - 01:00 PM

I have a dedicated server, I cant exactly install a program on it.

Does fshost work as a remote client? So the multiplayer server is the dedicated server but I can control what is going on with ir from my own computer?

#5 kamakazi

kamakazi

    Passenger

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 04 April 2008 - 01:19 PM

Yes and no.

Yes - you can go into the Remote Interface from your computer and control everything. Bans, chat, and all that good stuff.

No - The client just runs from the computer you want people to connect to...

#6 iKettles

iKettles

    Airline Transport Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,330 posts
  • Location:Essex, UK

Posted 04 April 2008 - 02:19 PM

View Postlambo8, on Apr 4 2008, 07:00 PM, said:

I have a dedicated server, I cant exactly install a program on it.
Why? A dedicated server acts exactly like a normal computer expect it has a fast connection, server RAM, server motherboards etc and it uses a server operating system like RedHat, Windows Server etc. As long as you have root access you should be able to install FSHost.

#7 Tom_S

Tom_S

    Private Pilot - VFR

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted 05 April 2008 - 03:09 AM

View PostKamakazi, on Apr 4 2008, 12:54 PM, said:

Use Fshost to host your server. It runs on your computer so if GameSpy's server goes down, your server won't. :lol:

But then, how will his server be advertised to the average multiplayer flyer?  :lol:   Just try logging in before about 11-12am GMT and its all good..

Im not really the right person to say: but I don't think you can install FS9/X on any other operating systems, from what I've heard. (don't mention mac's i know you can install it there but you aren't going to find one of them as you're server, hopefully)
So I would think you would have to have a windows server.
(don't kill me if im wrong)
:hrmm:

Then, if you do, you follow winxpro's instruction, if you understand it.

Tom.

#8 learjet45dream

learjet45dream

    Orville Reincarnate

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,854 posts
  • Location:RPI

Posted 05 April 2008 - 12:18 PM

View PostToms, on Apr 5 2008, 02:09 AM, said:

View PostKamakazi, on Apr 4 2008, 12:54 PM, said:

Use Fshost to host your server. It runs on your computer so if GameSpy's server goes down, your server won't. :lol:

But then, how will his server be advertised to the average multiplayer flyer?  :lol:   Just try logging in before about 11-12am GMT and its all good..

Im not really the right person to say: but I don't think you can install FS9/X on any other operating systems, from what I've heard. (don't mention mac's i know you can install it there but you aren't going to find one of them as you're server, hopefully)
So I would think you would have to have a windows server.
(don't kill me if im wrong)
:hrmm:

Then, if you do, you follow winxpro's instruction, if you understand it.

Tom.
FSWs server is advertised here on the site, but not in the gamespy session. Plenty of people still join it.
My guess is you are wrong. Do you know how expensive windows server is? My guess would have to be that it is running Linux.