Jump to content


- - - - -

Scenery problems at St. Barthelemy (TFFJ)


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 mopar71fan

mopar71fan

    Student Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts

Posted 26 January 2008 - 10:37 PM

Hey everybody, I downloaded new scenery for St. Barthelemy (TFFJ) airport, and I noticed the runway is perpendicular to where it's supposed to be.  One end is supposed to end practically on a beach, but the airport is totally landlocked in FS9.  Here's a picture:

Posted Image

And this is sort of what it's supposed to look like:

http://www.ddkportra...st_barth_71.jpg

You can see to the upper right of the grand caravan that there's a couple of houses floating in the water, and just above the runway a soccer field is on top of a river.  And as a said earlier, one end of the runway is supposed to end practically on a beach, where an approach would involve flying low over the water.  Thanks for the help!

Edited by mopar71fan, 26 January 2008 - 10:43 PM.


#2 mopar71fan

mopar71fan

    Student Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts

Posted 26 January 2008 - 10:51 PM

Here are a couple of better pictures, with my FS9 screenshot and a Google Earth screenshot.

Posted Image

Versus:

Posted Image

And yes, I have Windows Vista and I love it and it works great with FS9.  :lol:

Edited by mopar71fan, 26 January 2008 - 10:53 PM.


#3 learjet45dream

learjet45dream

    Orville Reincarnate

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,854 posts
  • Location:RPI

Posted 26 January 2008 - 11:45 PM

The scenery you chose must not be very realistic. Thats the only explanation I can think of.

#4 DJ Iceman

DJ Iceman

    Airline Transport Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,593 posts
  • Location:KY

Posted 26 January 2008 - 11:48 PM

View Postlearjet45 aka JK, on Jan 26 2008, 11:45 PM, said:

The scenery you chose must not be very realistic. Thats the only explanation I can think of.
+1.

Try some other scenery and see if you get the same result.  Dunno what else there could be.

#5 mopar71fan

mopar71fan

    Student Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts

Posted 27 January 2008 - 11:11 AM

My original fs9 scenery was aligned that way too, so I downloaded the fresh scenery hoping it'll make a difference.

#6 Pattyboy10

Pattyboy10

    Airline Transport Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,879 posts
  • Location:Hotels and Bars

Posted 27 January 2008 - 11:33 AM

You'll have to get the paywayre scenery.

Any fs9 running good with vista is hilarious. I can't tell the same with my rack :lol: :lol:

#7 Chief NWA

Chief NWA

    Orville Reincarnate

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,148 posts
  • Location:Tampa, Florida

Posted 27 January 2008 - 11:37 AM

just get Flytampa's St. Maarten Complete scenery.
you won't be disapointed.! :lol:

#8 mopar71fan

mopar71fan

    Student Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts

Posted 27 January 2008 - 02:35 PM

View PostChief NWA, on Jan 27 2008, 11:37 AM, said:

just get Flytampa's St. Maarten Complete scenery.
you won't be disapointed.! :lol:

Where can I get that?  I'm guessing it includes St. Bart's scenery too.

View PostPattyboy10, on Jan 27 2008, 11:33 AM, said:

You'll have to get the paywayre scenery.

Any fs9 running good with vista is hilarious. I can't tell the same with my rack :hrmm: :hrmm:

How's that hilarious?  I'm just curious. :lol:  :hrmm:

#9 Robin.

Robin.

    Contributor\Download Manager\formerly Robin.B

  • Download Manager
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 27 January 2008 - 05:14 PM

http://www.flytampa.com

#10 kamakazi

kamakazi

    Passenger

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 0 posts

Posted 28 January 2008 - 12:00 AM

You can download AFCAD and try moving the runway to it's correct position. But that leads to other problems..

#11 -RAMz-

-RAMz-

    Commercial Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,755 posts
  • Location:East Coast, USA

Posted 28 January 2008 - 06:14 AM

View PostChief NWA, on Jan 27 2008, 11:37 AM, said:

just get Flytampa's St. Maarten Complete scenery.
you won't be disapointed.! :lol:
:lol:

SME started b/c of that scenery. LOL

#12 mopar71fan

mopar71fan

    Student Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts

Posted 28 January 2008 - 08:15 PM

View PostKamakazi, on Jan 28 2008, 12:00 AM, said:

You can download AFCAD and try moving the runway to it's correct position. But that leads to other problems..

What kind of problems?  And where can I get an AFCAD for St. Barthelemy, and how do I move it?

Edited by mopar71fan, 28 January 2008 - 08:21 PM.


#13 hlminx

hlminx

    Passenger

  • New Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 October 2010 - 05:02 AM

I had the same problem with St. Barts... The runway doesn't end on the beach as it does in reality. I'm running FS9 with FS Global 2010 mesh which improves the overall texture of the landscape but by their own admission, the guys that make software don't correct the location 'errors ' in FS, and there are many of them. I also heard that it's not the runway that's wrong, it's actually the islands' orientation around the runway. Not sure if it's true but would make sense. Only way ive managed to find to get the accurate representation is to go for the payware add on from Fly Tampa... Or hope someone posts a freeware add on in time.

#14 wynthorpe

wynthorpe

    Airline Transport Pilot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,070 posts
  • Location:EGCC

Posted 03 October 2010 - 12:54 PM

Super thread bump there! lol.